MAGIC: Happy 2013! ;)

Happy New Year!

Magic.  That’s what we’re all expecting.  We partied hard last night (some harder than others), and we wake up for better or worse on January 1st , 2013 and expect everything to be different.  Magically.

Ok, so maybe I’m the only one hoping for a bit of magic these days, but I swear to you, I believe wholeheartedly that this is my year.  I don’t know what that means exactly, but in a utopian version of this year, I lose the weight that has been taunting me all these years, I blog consistently, me and God get back on track and closer than ever, and oh yeah…maybe I meet the man of my dreams, fall in love, and live happily every after.  This year.  What?! Expecting too much?
The point is this: There are some changes I’d like to make in my life, and Mondays and New Years seem to be the best day to make said changes.  Sure, sometimes these changes only last a day, but the point is that I try.

I’m one of those people scared to death of failing.  Maybe at it’s heart, it’s really a fear of rejection, or a fear that I’m not as amazing as I suppose.  Perhaps these fears are all tied up into my fear of failing, but whether I like it or not, this is a fear I must face.  But I’m done with all that.  Because I learned something last Sunday that really stuck: If you’re not trying, you’re failing.

So I’m done with the what ifs and the sense of regret…today anyway.  And tomorrow, and every day after that, I sincerely hope that I make the same decision.  Here’s to 2013.  May we all be the best versions of ourselves that we can be.  Let us try anyway.  And let us…well, let me remember that with regards to God…well, He’s gonna have to do the changing, because it doesn’t seem to be working out when I try to do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

