25 Days of Memories, Day 10

Being 25, it’s hard to imagine that I was ever young.  But then I look back at some of the earliest memories I have, and I feel as though nothing was ever that long ago.  Time persists as time does, but I still have my memories.  And it’s been a really fun journey to go back through some of the biggest memories and record them here in these blog entries.  Allow me to be sentimental for a moment and thank you for taking this hilarious journey with me.

Ok, enough of that! Yesterday’s memory perhaps didn’t cast my mom in the best light.  And I just can’t let that inequality stand, so now I have to tell you a story about my dad too.  I mean, I won’t tell any true family secrets or anything, but growing up he did sing us the song: There’s a smell in the air….and it’s coming from there!

We definitely all had fun growing up, and with any true American family of the 90s, we talked about bodily functions.  It was just a thing, and truthfully still is.  I know some of you may have strong opinions on passing gas (like my roommate), but hey…when you’re family, things like that aren’t gross.  They’re just hilarious!

Like the one time my dad told me my stuffed, yellow bunny made of that noisy parachute material passed gas.  It was near the end of our time in the Washington, DC area.  We were packing things up to move and my parents came into my room to survey my stuffed animal collection.  And then I heard the noise.  Alarm! Immediately I was shocked and I looked to my dad for answers.  He said, “Oh honey, I think your stuffed rabbit did that…bad rabbit!” Freaked.  Me.  Out.  I never much played with the rabbit after that.

I have long entertained this idea of my father that may or not be accurate.  From my view in life, my dad likes to shock people.  Just ‘cause.   I don’t even think that he knowingly tries to do it sometimes…it just comes out.  Like the time I asked my dad if my baby sister was growing in my mom’s tummy.  I guess I was 4 or 5.  I was standing in the dinning area of the kitchen in our house in Greenville.  He replied, “No honey, if the baby was growing in your mom’s stomach, the acids would eat her.”  Oh.  Right.  Yes, let’s be completely accurate with a 5-year-old.  I think I had a similar but intensified look of alarm on my face after I heard that.

Comments
2 Responses to “25 Days of Memories, Day 10”
  1. Joy says:

    I’m going to go with the baseball t as a hand-me-down. Almost all of my brother’s childhood pictures are of him in pink pajamas. He hates those shots!

Leave a Reply

