25 Days of Memories, Day 9

When I was 6 or so, I started taking ballet lessons at the YWCA.  Perhaps that’s an ambitious statement considering that last sentence sounds as though it should be the start of a great career, and alas, it was not.

There are a few memories associated with said ballet lessons that I must share.  First, my mother likes to tell a story about how I came up to her after the first class or so to complain that all the other girls in the class were skinnier than I was.  Yes, even as a 6-year-old, I had a body image problem.  What is up with that?!

I took ballet lessons casually, but I took them long enough that my mom decided to invest real money in my lessons…she bought me shoes.  Everyone knows that I really love shoes! And these were real ballet shoes! And then I quit, citing a clear lack of recitals for cause to terminate my lessons.  My mother was not happy.  But it’s ok, because I was not happy with her a few years later down the road.

Apparently she didn’t really believe in my skills—I mean, it took her long enough to buy me shoes to further my not-so-budding career.  And then I found out that while I took ballet classes my mother was secretly laughing at me.  Yes, as I found out by the bell tower at Furman University—a couple of years after my last ballet class—my mom never thought I could skip.  Indeed, every time that I skipped she chuckled inside.  And one time by the bell tower at Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina, I skipped.  “Oh, you’ve really improved!” “What do you mean,” I asked.  Stifling a chuckle, “Well, it’s just that when you were younger, you couldn’t skip.” “What do you mean I couldn’t skip?” “Well, you just did is sort of lop-sided.” I watched mortified as she proceeded to demonstrate my skipping skills (or lack-there-of) with a silly half-open mouth smile on her face and eyes crossed.  Well, maybe her face wasn’t quite like that, but sometimes now when she demonstrates something she finds silly or funny, she has that look on her face, so I imagine her having it all those years ago by the bell tower.

Mom, I’d like to take the opportunity to thank you for being so supportive at such a fragile time in my development.  lol 😛 (Ps, I love you!)

Comments
6 Responses to “25 Days of Memories, Day 9”
  1. meagan says:

    this one made me sad!

    • No, no, no…not supposed to be sad. Just hilarious! My mom is absolutely 100% supportive of me! She just finds joy in the little things, and my bad skipping brought her joy! And it brings me joy to point out that she thought I couldn’t skip…I mean, I wish I could have seen myself skip when I was 6! What I must’ve looked like!

  2. Heather says:

    I love the fact that Christi noticed the hotdog. I thought in my head, “of course she did”.

  3. laurajdake says:

    it didn’t make me sad…i actually laughed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

