25 Days of Memories, Day 5

(Me and one of my Malaysia teammates, Kelsey [Igleheart] Bridges.  We were just goofing off on one of our days off.)

Don’t be impatient: I’m the most impatient person there is.  Really.  If I want something done, I’ve got to do it right away.  An example of this happened just this morning as I renewed my car registration.  I got in a hurry and put it on my car crooked…and it will remain that way for a year.  Sigh.  But the example I want to share is this: In summer of 2006, I had a life-changing summer.  I went on a 6-week mission trip to Malaysia.  It was incredible! God taught me so much! When I got back I was on a spiritual high…and as what happens with most spiritual bubbles, they get popped.  When I got back from the summer, I got it in my head that I really wanted a boyfriend.  I had never had one before, and I was 19, so I thought it was high time to have one! I looked around church and locked my eyes onto someone.  He was smart, nice, kind, a Christian…in short, the types of qualities I knew in my head would be good.  So I pursued rather hard and made it happen.  He asked me out on a date.   After the first date, I pretty much knew I had made a mistake.  Let’s be clear: He still is (presumably) a great guy.  The problem wasn’t him, it was me.  I knew I shouldn’t have tried to make something work just because it looked good on paper.  The truth was I just wanted a boyfriend, and he was the best candidate.  I didn’t actually like him in that way.  I feel awful looking back on how I used him.  I made a deal with God after that: for Him not to bring me anyone until I’m ready and I’ll do my best not to be impatient and make it happen.  I tried again recently to make something happen in that department, and realized to do so, I would just be settling.  So I press on…trying not to let my impatient flesh get in the way of God’s perfect timing (even if it isn’t mine, and He really stresses me out with His).  lol

Leave a Reply

