American Idol

Idolatry is apparently a real problem in the bible…like actual worship of inanimate objects made from gold.  But there is also a theme of idolatry in the unfaithfulness of the Israelites.  I mean, basically the whole Old Testament is one big on-again-off-again relationship between God and His people.  It’s like the Israelites just never got it.  They ran to God when the needed Him, and then got too big for their britches and didn’t acknowledge Him.  What the crap guys…

Oh, wait.  Ha.  Yeah, I do that too.   If I’m being completely honest with you and myself, consistency and faithfulness to God is sort of an issue for me…

What are the idols that get in my way?  What are the things that pull me from God? Well, mostly I can’t blame anyone or anything in particular.  Things of this world wouldn’t be a problem if I would stop giving into them, so I suppose I am the problem.  Sure I get distracted by material possessions, by status, by beauty, etc.  But at the end of the day those all have to do with idolatry towards a single subject: me.

I am my own idol.  I have often pondered that fact, but I have been noticing lately just how true that statement is.  I am my own idol.  Here are the signs: I take tons of pictures of myself and spend extra time in the bathroom just looking at my face.  I go through and read my old tumblr. account just to be reminded of how clever I am.  And most shocking of all (and trust me, these are just a few examples), I prefer not talking to God so He can’t tell me something that will mess up the plans I have for my life.

I walk around thinking I’m so amazing—Like Barney Stinson, I’m oozing awesomeness.  lol.  I went to a summer camp when I was 16 just so I could win awards.  And I did.  All of them that I came to win.  But the truth is this: I am as insignificant as they come.  I live in a world of 7 billion people (give or take), and I’m just one person.  Living in America doesn’t make me better.  Being a Christian doesn’t make me better.  And certainly being a Christian that often places herself above her Creator…um, well that’s a problem…anyone else see an inconsistency here?

Sigh.  The only way to truly live is to die.  And those who become last will be first.  So to live, I’ve got to die in last place.  Not exactly an exciting prospect…lol.  But what is exciting, is that I’ll live.  And isn’t that the point?!  I’ll live for the things that really matter…

How do I accomplish this feat? I believe it won’t be easy, and I believe it will have to be a daily choice, but I think it starts with prayer, and choosing each day to become less so He can become more.  I’ll let you know how that goes…

(Become Weaker from The Work Of The People on Vimeo.  This video helps explain what I mean about becoming lesser so God can become greater.  It’s a truly encouraging piece.).

Leave a Reply

